Devlin’s Luck by Patricia Bray

Devlin Stonehand, broken and beggared, asks only two things of life: to pay his debt and die. The only way to pay the debt is to take a job no one else wants. The pay is good — life expectancy, not so good. Which suits him just fine. But this tattered stranger at the gates of Kingsholm has a hard time being taken seriously. He is the most unlikely candidate to ever ask to take the oath of the Chosen One. And he is very nearly turned away. Men of position and note had died simply by taking the oath. Others never made it past their first task.

Befriended by a young minstrel, Stephen, who grew up on songs of the Chosen Ones of legend, Devlin sets out to smother any hopes of adding himself to Stephen’s repertoire.

He just wants to fulfill his commission as best he can, or, better yet, die in the attempt.

Devlin soon finds that his new position comes with strings attached, strings that are a part of the tangled web of court politics and power. Knowing who to trust in this strange and unknown world becomes his greatest challenge, and his deadliest task. And as Devlin comes to grips with the dangers that beset the kingdom from within and without, he finds he is fighting on two fronts — raiders, traitors, and mages on one front, and his own personal demons on the other.

The plot in Devlin’s Luck may not be exceptional, but the characters and execution are. I always get a little charge when I find an author who is a real writer. And Patricia Bray knows her craft. She takes a standard fantasy plot line and, whallah, pops you right in the middle of it before you can say “page one”.

If you like fantasy, and are finding too many rotten apples in this genre barrel, take note of Patricia Bray. I think you’ll like her as much as I do.

3 thoughts on “Devlin’s Luck by Patricia Bray

    • Thank you so much for responding. I am actually overwhelmed. I had intended to write to you through the years, but you know what the path to hell is paved with. I wanted to let you know how much your books meant to me. I was a caregiver for over 16 years, fully with love and commitment through the grace of God. But I also needed an escape. My Bible was my strength and hope. Your Devlin trilogy and The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold, were my means of escape. I read them through several times.They were my “vacations” so to speak. Of course, I read other books. I love mystery and fantasy, but good ones are too few and far between. I cannot tell you why these books made me feel the way I did. I’m no psychologist. But I think there was something about the roads at the beginning – a long, dusty path to a destination the characters are unsure of. The horrendous struggle with unfathomable tragedy, and to face overwhelming odds with courage, dignity, and integrity – even when they did not feel like it. I would come back to my world refreshed and ready to “slay more dragons” once again. Thank you for sharing with the rest of us your God-given gift of imagination, and your commitment to writing, and for giving us Walter Mittys of the world another world get lost in for much needed “vacations”.

Comment

