Centered

Staying Between the Lines

The only way to stay centered and sane in a chaotic world is to anchor our minds, our hearts, our thoughts, in our Creator. In today’s society, where the lines on the road are not just fuzzy but fast disappearing, we need a way to stay a straight course, not wonder all over like a drunken driver on a date with disaster.

The bridge to this God of peace and sanity is His Son Jesus Christ, who is God in flesh, born of a virgin, who took our sins and conquered death by rising from the grave. The way to cross this Bridge is through agreement and acceptance of the sacrifice made by Jesus, by faith in His Word alone.

Every manmade bridge – “goodness”, a “good heart”, good works, attending church, lip service, empty religion, good intentions – has dry rot and crumbles at a touch. They cannot bridge that gap between man and God. Only Jesus. The “good” things are important, but you must accept God’s gift of the car before He can teach you to drive it.

“For God so loved [you] that he gave His only begotten son, that whoever [that’s you and me] believes in Him, should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16. (See “For Further Information” at the bottom of the page). Don’t take my word for it. Read if for yourself.

Then you might start the day with these Bible verses as prayers. Speak them to Him in earnestness and in truth and see if you don’t feel just a little saner at the end of it.

For you have not given me the spirit of fear,
but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.
from 2 Timothy 1:7

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and renew a right spirit within me.
Psalm 51:10

Search me, O God, and know my heart;
try me, and know my thoughts,
and see if there be any wicked way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.
Psalm 139: 23 – 24

Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth;
keep the door of my lips.
Incline not my heart to any evil thing.
Mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord;
In thee is my trust.
Psalm 141: 3, 4a, and 8a

Lord, you said you will keep me in perfect peace,
as my mind is anchored in you, as I trust in you.
Help me to trust in you, Lord, forever, for in the
Lord Jehovah is everlasting strength.
from Isaiah 26:3-4

Yes, this is the day that you have made, O Lord.
I will rejoice and be glad in it.
from Psalm 118:24

***************

For Further Information
All are guilty before God : Romans 3:10-12 and verse 23; Romans 6:23
Salvation is free (not cheap): Romans 3:24 and 5:6-8
Only by faith not works — remember, car first, then drive: Romans 3:28; Ephesians 2:8-10


Comment

