Cat Tastrophies: The Kitten Who Came in from the Cold

DSCN0505

The day kitty came in from the cold

He was a shivering, spitting little puff ball when Mike discovered him. A tiny kitten — white with black and gray spots — had materialized out of nowhere on our back deck. He was just getting into the cute kittenhood stage. Mike picked him up, brought him inside, and set him on the floor, where the little stinker commenced to talk nasty, showing us — in his little bitty body language — that he was ready to wreak some serious harm and mayhem upon our persons if we dared touch him again.

DSCN0654

Lying trustingly in Mike’s lap

It wasn’t long before he realized we weren’t going to rend him limb from limb and snack on his tiny little bones. He decided he liked the safe, warm indoors, canned cat food, and playing stalking games – with kitty and human taking turns being the stalker. He got better and better at practicing his Ninja moves, lying in wait, and ambushing. Nobody was safe. From the beginning he loved hit and run, bouncing up to our feet, then sidling back and galloping across the hardwood floors with his tail as straight up as a mast pole. For a little fellow, he sounded like a whole herd of wild horses

We let him out during the day because he’s still a nursing baby. — Yeah. That mama cat snuck one by us. — But we bring him in when the sun goes down. He sits on the couch with us, when he’s in the mood to sit. But most of the time he’s nibbling on our fingers or DSCN0801toes, attacking our slippers or shoes, or climbing up to look in our eyes and mouths to see if we’re still breathing, or determine what we had for supper.

But mostly he likes the sound Mike’s house shoes make when he scuffs them over the floor. They make this deliciously provocative shushing noise that Kitty cannot resist. But when that sibilant sound comes straight at him, he dives under the couch, then peeks out to see if it’s safe to come out again. And let’s not even talk about his discovery of the kitchen curtains.

When one of us gets up to go to the kitchen, he climbs up the back of the couch and peers over to see what we’re doing. If we get out of his sight, he cries. If I dare work on my cryptogram puzzles in his presence, he makes sure to walk between me and the book, or he stands on it and sniffs it, wondering what the attraction is. It doesn’t smell like food. And it just lies there while I scratch on it with a semi-interesting stick. Have you ever tried to write while a kitten is constantly trying to nibble on the eraser? Hard to do, let me tell you.

You should have seen him with our granddaughter Montana. It was mutual love at first sight. It was early morning and he and Montana bonded before breakfast. A twelve-year-old knows just how to get a kitten to play. And fall leaves make the best shushing sound.

DSCN0790

Granddaughter Montana and Scampus in early morning sunlight

DSCN0794

Love at first sight. There’s nothing like a little girl and a kitten.

DSCN0797

Okaaay, Kid. This is awkward. Put me down.

DSCN0798

Okay. Yeah. That’s the spot. Yeah. I’ll give you a couple of hours to quit that.

DSCN0830

Whatcha got there, little girl? Sounds interesting. Let’s play, okay?

DSCN0823

DSCN0843

Okay. Do I have to do all the work here? Make it rattle

Okay. I’ll admit it. We’ve got it bad. We’ve never been able to resist a Mark Twain kitten. The feline equivalent of a charming but hellacious entity that’s a cross somewhere between Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn, with just a smattering of Hellboy to spice him up. Just this morning I made a run to the hamburger joint for biscuits, juice, and coffee. Mike came out to help me bring them in. We were just outside the door when we heard a loud, ominous thump inside. Uh-oh. Inside, we found my heavy, cut-glass vase knocked over. The headful of tasteful floral arrangement that usually graced its elegance now lay stem up in an ignominious position. We tried to scold. Little puss just looked at us in wide-eyed innocence, then went back to batting the single silken leaf he’d managed to separate from the display. Our scolding was either studiously ignored, or it went right over his delicate little head.

DSCN0833

I got it. I won. Now what? Let’s play something else.

We still haven’t found a suitable name for him. Almost all our outdoor cats have similar markings, and we had already named one “Spot”. So far we’ve called him “Rapscallion”, “Scampus” — you know, like Scamp-puss. Let’s seeee . . . what else. He has all kinds of little quirks, but usually a cat will “tell” you his name at some point. It becomes obvious. This one is still trying out this thing called personality, and he’s hitting it hard from every angle. So maybe we’ll just wait a while. Maybe Scampus will be the name that sticks. Or not. He’s too cute and innocent looking to be called “Wicked”, though he likes to think he’s big and bad. But every so often he just quietly settles in beside us, or on us. Sometimes he faces the TV and looks for all the world like he’s watching it with us. Then other times he goes so totally asleep his whole body unwinds into absolute and total relaxation. Wish I could do that.

Anyway, I’ve got the cutest pictures and even some video. I can share the pictures right now, but Mike will have to show me how to do video. Remember I told you we got this new Nikon? Mike and I haven’t had much experience with video and holding the camera just so, and keeping up with a constantly fast-moving target. I even turned it sideways once like it was a still shot. Boy! That didn’t work. But it is funny. So just enjoy the cute-kitten pictures and be glad your possessions are safe. Ciao for now. Ho-ho. Or maybe Cat Chow for now, huh? And now from little Kitty. Night night. Sleep tight. ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

DSCN0900

Sandbagged by the Sandman. Lights out.

29 thoughts on “Cat Tastrophies: The Kitten Who Came in from the Cold

  1. O..M..G! You’ve hooked me now for sure. I’m a huge, HUGE cat lover from way back. I could fill your blog several times over with amazing cat/kitten rescue stories just since 1990, when we moved to rural NH. LOVE your photos, especially the last one.

    My most recent rescues were Juno and her mother, Cali (Cali for Calico and Juno, short for Cai Jr.) You can read their story at this entry in my Live Journal, written from Juno’s POV.

    http://yeuxdebleu.livejournal.com/144585.html

    Here’s Papa, He lives a quarte mile up the road.

    http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/magicdancer/Personal/Cats%20and%20Wildlife/7d2f725c.jpg~original

    Cali still lives with the woman who helped me find a home for Juno. She fell in love with Cali…a very sweet kitty. She was a stray, but had obviously been someone’s pet at one time. She was immediately comfortable in the house and definitely knew what the sound of the electric can opener meant. :>) I had been feeding her outside until I discovered she had the kitten, then I moved them both indoors. I didn’t want them to become dinner for one of the numerous predators that lurk around here.

    • Thanks, Jo Ann,
      That’s one I so totally enjoyed doing. I was smiling the whole time. LOVED your cat pictures. They are both unusually gorgeous, but the younger one (Juno?) is striking. Mike hasn’t seen them yet. Can’t wait to show them to him. I’m SO glad you’re a cat person, too. They are so eternally entertaining and intelligent, with personality in spades. I thought you already knew Mike and I were cat people. By A Whisker at https://thevillagesmith.wordpress.com/2012/03/13/by-a-whisker/
      Catnips https://thevillagesmith.wordpress.com/category/odds-n-ends/page/30/
      More Catnips at https://thevillagesmith.wordpress.com/category/odds-n-ends/page/29/

      I loved the “cool cats” pictures on the left side of your journal page also.:)

      Keep up the great rescue work. We didn’t start out to do rescue, but living in the country you’re going to get strays and kittens. We had the first few spayed, but eventually could no longer bear the expense. Just providing them with cat food gets to be a strain on the budget. We just get too many of them and can’t bear to see them go hungry. I would like to read your cat story, can you send me a link to that one also?

      • I loved the links you gave me to your other cat stories. Tigger looks a lot like Juno’s father and Gideon is gorgeous. The other cats are all cute, too.

        “I loved the “cool cats” pictures on the left side of your journal page also.:)”

        Do you mean the pics of Il Volo? I made that for my Live Journal layout.

        “I would like to read your cat story, can you send me a link to that one also?”

        I’m not sure what you mean by that. I gave you the link to my LJ cat story…about the rescue of Juno and Cali. Didn’t you click through the entry to see the entire story? That’s what you need to do.

      • I read through the entire first link. Loved it. But I couldn’t get the second link to go anywhere. Was it on that?

        Glad you liked the “Catnips” and “Whiskers”. We loved them all, but the tabby with the multiple names depending on who was talking ( Puss-Tigger-The Tigger From Hell) and any other names we called him, was our constant companion for over 16 years. And, yes, Giddy (Gideon) was another apple of our eye.

        Yes. You got it. The “cool cats” were OUR BOYS. I scrolled through all those pictures too. Great site, by the way. Love your layout.

      • The second link was a photo of the large orange tom cat who was Juno’s father. I gave you a direct link to the photo because I can’t post the actual photo in a Word Press comment. Wouldn’t the link open for you? I just tried it and it works for me.

        You said you “scrolled though all those pictures, too [Il Volo.]” You shouldn’t have needed to scroll because all nine photos are a collage and you should have been able to see them all in the one collage.

        *is confused*

      • I’m sorry. The Il Volo pictures I LOOKED through, but had the word “scroll” on my mind. No, I couldn’t get the second one to open. We especially love orange tabbys so I wanted to see that one. I will try it again.

      • I tried it again just now and it came up just as smooth as you please. But last night I clicked a couple of times and it would not send me to the link. I’ve learned from experience that these things are hinky. I was trying to do some editing on one of my own posts today and it showed the picture had been pulled. It was my own picture and I was mouthing off at the computer. Mike just told me to open another tab and go to back to my blog. Sure enough, the picture is really and truly there, but it’s not on the “edit” page. Go figure.

  2. Another cat rescue story. There was a HUGE tom cat I fed outside about five years ago. We called him Mr. Hissy, because he would alternately meow and hiss when I came out with food. We also had a small female that appeared out of nowhere and became, uhmm… “freinds” with Hissy. Kittens soon followed: an all black, a beautiful silver and a gray tabby, all males. Mr. Hissy left after doing his tom cat duty and I knew there were kittens because I heard them under the barn floor.

    One day they came out with mom to eat the food I put out for her every day. Then one day mom cat didn’t show up, nor did she appear the second day. I figured a wild critter got her because I knew she wouldn’t leave such young kittens. The third day the kittens came out in search of food, which they probably remembered had been there once before. They were very skittish.

    I spent a month sitting beside the food, talking to them and eventually petting them. One was particularly curious and came to the (enclosed) porch door, which I opened and let him in. I let him right back out so he wouldn’t feel trapped. This went on for a week, by which time all three kittens were visiting. Then one day the porch door no longer opened, but the kitchen door from the porch was open.

    My two older cats came out to meet the kittens and everything went well. I think the older cats didn’t feel threatened by kittens and the kittens were happy to see other cats. All five live a joyful, peaceful exsistence inside and don’t go out at all anymore. The older cats are Dancer and Spunky, a brother and sister, who were also born to a stray I fed. The three former kittens are Eric, Compton and Sam — named for characters from the HBO show “True Blood.”

    DANCER
    http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/magicdancer/Personal/Cats%20and%20Wildlife/MagicDancer4.jpg~original

    DANCER & SPUNKY
    http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/magicdancer/Personal/Cats%20and%20Wildlife/DancerSpunky33-10-06.jpg~original

    COMPTON, SAM & DANCER
    http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/magicdancer/Personal/Cats%20and%20Wildlife/ComptonSamDancerBest1-16-09.jpg~original

    ERIC
    http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/magicdancer/Personal/Cats%20and%20Wildlife/Eric10-16-13_zps4db8d005.jpg~original

    COMPTON, ERIC & SAM AS KITTENS
    http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/magicdancer/Personal/Cats%20and%20Wildlife/Best-KittensEarlySept2008.jpg~original

    THEY LOVE THEIR WINDOW SEATS
    http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/magicdancer/Personal/Cats%20and%20Wildlife/CatsOnWindowSeats2-7-10.jpg~original

    THE NEW FAVORITE TOY
    http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y109/magicdancer/Personal/Cats%20and%20Wildlife/Spunkyincube10-16-13_zps02049398.jpg~original

  3. Isn’t that so maddening? It happens a lot at Live Journal, too. One minute…no picture, then the next time I try…there it is. Computers definitely have minds of their own and all we can do is flail and wonder what’s going on.

    Off topic, but I watched “Now You See Me” last night. I LOVED IT !!! Definitely didn’t see that end coming AT ALL. I’m going to watch the special features tonight. I have a couple of questions and if they’re not answered in the special features, I’ll email you. Don’t want to say anything about them in your blog in case someone sees them who hasn’t seen the movie yet. I don’t mind spoilers at all, but many people do.

    • Yes. It was an amazing movie. I thought I “got” a lot of the stuff (and I did), but Tammy beat me out. She’s got a quick eye. Must be something about only being in her thirties. Ya think?

      I was thinking about emailing you since you know so much about behind the scenes in movies. But then decided to research the whole thing myself and write a post piece. Tomorrow hopefully. I watched “The Great Train Robbery” with Sean Connery. I had seen it years and years before, but was too young to really appreciate it. After I watched it, I had major questions about the making of it, and I not one to go out of my way for behind the scenes. Sometimes they interest me and sometimes they don’t. This one did..

      • I think I asked you this before, but I don’t recall what you said. Do you get DVDs from Netflix, streaming movies, or both? I get only DVDs…I don’t have sufficient bandwidth to do a lot of streaming. Plus i LOVE all the special features on DVDs, especially the “Making of” documentaries. Some are duds, but most are very interesting.

        My questions about “Now You See Me” aren’t about how tricks were done. They’re more “why” kind of questions.

        I know I’ve seen “The Great Train Robbery” but it was so long ago that I don’t remember anything about it.

      • We stream the movies.

        No, it wasn’t all in how tricks were done. It was also trying to figure out whys and wherefores. Case in point — I suspected a certain young man was not dead, but I vacillated. Tammy was certain. That’s one of the things that make this movie so much fun.

        Since, like me, it has been a long time since you’ve seen it, and — like me — you don’t remember anything about it, then the post I write will be fresh for you and you can order the CD – maybe even with behind the scenes stuff. That’s one I’d like to see. Like I said, I like a lot of behind the scenes, but just don’t think about it much.

  4. Don’t forget to read my second cat rescue story that’s posted in a comment here. I spent a lot of time choosing the photos and uploading them to my image server so I don’t want you to miss it.

    I just noticed it says above my comment that it’s awaiting moderation. I’ve never seen that notice before. Maybe you never saw my entry and haven’t cleared it. Hmmm…..

    • Jo Ann,
      Finally found your second story and pictures. Mike had to help me find it. He says when there are several comments, one gets shoved to the bottom and out of sight. We had to go through a ton of comments to find it. But it was worth it. We both read and looked at pictures. It was very much worth the search.

      More later. Mike and I have been away from home and busy with our newest acquisition. Will write and post pictures later. One of our dreams come true.

      • “He says when there are several comments, one gets shoved to the bottom and out of sight.”

        Does that mean several comments from the same person…me? If so, I’d better restrict my comments to one per entry.

        I thought perhaps the “Awaiting moderation” message was due to the fact that I had included links to so many photos….that Word Press thought I was spamming your blog.

        Hmm, one of your dreams came true? Sounds intiguing and I’m looking forward to the photos.

      • I don’t know what all goes on with this stuff. You should never have an awaiting moderation. Let me know if it shows up only with links and photos.

        I counted the comments. There were 27. I don’t think they are all from you, but yours is the majority. And I enjoy them all. Keep on commenting. I usually can’t get to my replies until morning except for rare occasions. You respond mostly in the evening, I think.

Comment

