T’was the Week Before Christmas and All Through the Mall

Little girl Christmas shopping with parents for last-minute purchases. Learns more than they bargained for.

Poem by Linda M. Smith.

T’was the week before Christmas and all through the mall,
The last-minute rush was becoming a brawl.
The stockings were torn from their shelves without care,
In hopes that their Visas had credit to spare.

The presents were nestled all snug in their carts,
While visions of bankruptcy clutched at their hearts.
And mom in her blue jeans and dad in his cap
Were arguing hotly who would pay for this crap.

Right there in the aisle they made such a clatter,
That security came to settle the matter.
So away to the toy aisle I flew like a flash,
Went through all my pockets and counted my cash.

The fluorescent lighting showed the shelves were a mess,
And made shopping so baffling, I was having to guess.
When all of a sudden, in a gleaming bright glow,
Was the jewel of the season; the Heartbreaker Bow.

With cute little darts so lively and quick,
I knew in a moment – I couldn’t wait for St. Nick.
But just as I reached for it, some other girls came,
And we wrestled and shouted and they called me a name.

Now, darn it! Now, drat it! Now, Trisha and Abby,
Go on with you now, you’re making me crabby.
This is the top of my list I’ve got tacked to my wall.
Now, beat it. Now, beat it. Now scram away all.

But we tugged and we hollered, like adult shoppers do,
And though I still held my place, I was missing a shoe.
And as I covered my head and was turning around,
Down the aisle all the parents came with a bound.

Their feathers were all ruffled from their head to their feet,
And their eyes were all tarnished with looks that weren’t sweet.
They had bundles of stuff all flung in their carts,
But the spirit of Christmas was far from their hearts.

They were madder than heck, but I hadn’t yet spoken,
For one thing my bow was shattered and broken.
They shouted “Grow up! Quit making a scene!
You’re all grounded for Christmas!” That made me turn green.

But nobody mentioned the stores full of strife,
By greedy adults – (I’d be grounded for life).
But I snuck past store cameras, as we went out the door,
Hoping Santa was blind and would then give me more.

But I asked Mom and Dad, was not something amiss?
I thought that Christmas should mean more than this.
But they didn’t hear, as we drove past the scenes,
So, Merry Christmas to all. Whatever that means.

12 thoughts on “T’was the Week Before Christmas and All Through the Mall

    • Little girl Christmas shopping with parents for last-minute purchases. Learns more than they bargained for. …..Poem by Linda Smith.

      I don’t guess I made it very obvious. Yes. I wrote it. I love playing around with old poems. Did you listen to the video and song by John Barry at the bottom of the post? When I first heard it I couldn’t believe he was a country singer.

      • Well, you made it obvious enough that you wrote it, but I just didn’t see it because I was so amused by the drawing then I launched directly into reading the poem. I expected to see the author at the end, for some reason.

        Yes, I watched the video. It’s nice, but he still sounds like a country singer to me. I prefer that Christmas carol performed by a very good soprano or choir. Then, of course, there is “our boys” singing it.

        I like Il Volo’s version, but I think it’s a bit too slow.

      • I went back and reset the byline so it was more obvious. And thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I had fun writing it.

        It may be the singer’s accent, but to me his voice is outstanding. Since we got our camera we’ve done some video and I absolutely hate my voice. I’ve been back in Alabama since 1995 and it shows. I’ve always had an accent, but now it’s as brrroad as a barn.

        Your video did not come through. I had no idea Il Volo sang it.

      • You’re not alone. I shudder to think what my singing voice sounds like now. I don’t even try.

        Sorry the video didn’t come through. I chose the embed code, but here is the straight link. Hopefully, this will work.

      • Thanks. This one came through. I listened to the first few words. Sounds great. Will have to hear it better in the morning since Mike has gone to bed and sound from the TV carries like it’s amplified into our bedroom. (Lots of work for Mike lately, praise the Lord. But early hours for both of us.

        It’s not just my singing voice. It’s my everyday talking voice. I didn’t know I sound as bad as I do. Long years of sinus and drainage has just about ruined my voice. And my laugh has always been loud. Since I heard it on the video I’m self-conscious about it. But try as I might, I’ve had it all my life and can’t change it now. And I can’t put a damper on laughter, lousy voice or not. Age gets us every way we turn, doesn’t it?

      • Good, I’m glad the second link worked.

        That’s great about Mike having so many jobs. I hope he doesn’t run himself ragged though.

        I don’t have a loud laugh, at least I don’t think I do and no one has ever told me I do. But Frank shushes me sometimes because he says I’m speaking loudly. That could very well be the result of growing up with grandparents who were both quite hard of hearing. My grandfather used to say I was the only person in the family that he could hear distinctly. Could also be that I enunciated more clearly due to drama training rather that how loudly I spoke.

      • Sorry. I read this, but looks like I never replied. I’ve always had my funny loud laugh. My older cousin said people at the movies used to laugh at me when I laughed. As for speaking loudly, that runs in the family, too. Can’t blame it on hard of hearing grandparents. Their hearing seemed intact till their earthly trials were over. When sister Katie and I get on the phone, Mike says we two just keep getting louder and louder. We don’t even realize it.

        Mike is happy about his surge in business, especially since he will retire in January of the year after this January.

Comment

