Natalie’s Christmas Kindness in the Checkout Line at K-Mart

I noticed the woman at the front of the line. at K-mart in Trussville (AL). She had some purchases bagged, some still in her buggy. But then she was telling the checkout girl something I couldn’t hear. Next thing I knew she and her buggy were behind me. It wasn’t a long line. Just a couple of shoppers I think. But I was at the end.

She was checking over the other stuff in her buggy, and doing some sorting. I guess trying to get things organized. She smiled as I turned toward her.

“I hate to hold up a line,” she said. “I’ve got lots of transactions to do at the checkout counter and it takes a long time. So if there are others waiting I just do a few and come back around.”

“That’s very nice of you,” I said.

“Oh, I have plenty of time,” she said. “No problem at all. I’m making purchases for people at the nursing home and I’ve got to have different receipts. Some of them also have the K-Mart Rewards points. So I have to keep those separate, too. So you see, it really does take a long time, and I don’t want to hold people up who are in a hurry.”

Okay. I have seen people who have a buggy full of stuff let someone go ahead who only have a couple of items. I’ve done it myself. But this lady was the first of her kind I had ever seen go to this much trouble for shoppers who were in a hurry.

“That’s what I call a Christ-like attitude,” I said.

“Jesus really is the reason for the season,” she murmured shyly.

“Listen,” I said. “I write a blog and I like to write about the kindnesses people do for others. May I write about you? Would you mind giving me your name?”

“Okay,” she said. “My name’s Natalie. I’m from Pinson (AL).” That’s when she began telling me about the nursing home again and her purchases. “There wasn’t anyone in this line when I came over here. But when it started filling up, I figured I’d better help keep the line moving.”

“Natalie,” I said, “it’s been a real pleasure meeting you. My name’s Linda.”

“Nice to meet you, Linda.”

“Nice to meet you, too. Merry Christmas.”

“Merry Christmas.”

And then I was gone and she was at the checkout counter again. Thank God that He has put such people in my path, lest I become too cynical.

Thank you, Lord, for encounters with kindness, however brief. They are gifts placed in our memories to take out and treasure from time to time. They never get old, or worn. No one can steal them. And they will not be put back on a shelf and forgotten. They are the true joy of Christmas. The timelessness of your Godly love.

5 thoughts on “Natalie’s Christmas Kindness in the Checkout Line at K-Mart

  1. What a lovely lady. There are far too few thoughtful people like her in the world today.

    Like you, I let people go ahead of me in the checkout line when they have only several items. My cart is always loaded because I only go grocery shopping every couple of weeks. I always put my shopping cart in the proper space in the parking lot, too. And if there’s one left where it shouldn’t be, I take it into the store to use when I’m shopping.

    It’s surprising how little time and effort it takes to do the right thing.

  2. such a very nice person, not only for the way she acted in K mart but also the fact that she was shopping for the people in the nursing home. I wonder if she worked there?

    • I don’t think she worked at Walmart. She seemed more a volunteer for the nursing home. I think that’s why she didn’t want to take up the time of working people. Even though she probably works as hard as any of them.

Comment

