Voicing My American Support for Our Ally, the Nation of Israel

Israeli PM Benjamin Netanyahu addresses the US Congress

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-31716684   Israeli Prime Minister, Benjamin Netanyahu

Israel and I have the same birth year. 1948. I’ve always felt we sort of grew up together. That little nation with the big footprint has always been my measurement for courage and not backing down. I’ve read God’s history of, and future plan for Israel, from childhood on and they are written indelibly upon my heart and consciousness. There is no doubt in my mind God means what he says. “I, the Lord, do not change.” (Malachi 3:6). That’s both a promise and a warning. It was made to Israel, but it encompasses us all.

I have never been a doom and gloom person. I’m more of a Pollyanna. I also hate talking politics. I’d rather be more upbeat. I also don’t want to get into every wind of opinion. But even I, who likes to find the good in all that I can, cannot deny that our nation is in bad shape. Everything seems on the verge of crumbling around us and the Constitution has just been sort of a suggestion box for years. It is not revered as it once was, nor is God. And that’s a recipe for disaster.

That double-sided coin I spoke of above is found many places in Scripture. But it’s not a heads win, tails lose type of thing. “God doesn’t play dice,” as Einstein said. No. It has to do with personal choice. As in — I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live”.  (Deuteronomy 30:19). Or as in, you can support Israel and be blessed, or you can curse Israel (turn against them), and God will turn against you. It’s a choice.

Of Israel God says, I will bless those who bless you and curse those who treat you with contempt. All the families on earth will be blessed through you.” (Genesis 12:3)Abrahamic Covenant.

That’s not a threat. It’s a promise. There is also the promise that every family on earth will be blessed through Israel. The blessing is that Jesus, our Savior, was born of Israel. His earthly lineage was of Israel. And through Him and his sacrifice on the cross for our sins, every family on earth is blessed if they believe in, and accept him.

Romans 6:23
For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord. Why death? Because God says we have all sinned and not measured up to the standard of God. Only one man did. The Son of God. So remember. Every family on earth is blessed through Israel.

Romans 5:8
But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners.He died in our place so we would not have to. And the gift of salvation is free to every family and person on earth. We don’t have to earn it or pay for it. Yes. Salvation is free. But not cheap. How can any blessing be bigger than that. And Jesus was born of Israel. Was raised in Israel. And loved and prayed for Israel.

“O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, the city that kills the prophets and stones God’s messengers! How often I have wanted to gather your children together as a hen protects her chicks beneath her wings, but you wouldn’t let me. Matthew 23:37

Yes. Jerusalem, Israel, like so many in America, reject Jesus every day. Yet he loves them, and us, anyway. But God is not through with Israel. They are, and ever will be, “the apple of His eye”. “In a desert land he found him, in a barren and howling waste. He shielded him and cared for him; he guarded him as the apple of his eye,” (Deuteronomy 32:10). “Anyone who harms you harms my most precious possession. (Zachariah 2:8 – New Living Translation).

It is Israel who will be hounded and betrayed in the end. But it is Israel who will rise up under the banner of God. And it will still be Israel who will continue to bless the world. If you don’t believe me, read Revelation. There’s even a blessing just for reading the book.

So, I fear for our nation, a nation so blessed by God that the poor and disenfranchised have imagined it like Heaven, with streets paved with gold. But the rot started long ago and I fear it will crumble. Unless God intevenes, we cannot stand. Those we should be able to trust, our government, take refuge behind lies and twisted words, and hide their crimes under cover-ups. The lies, the graft, the greed, the decadence, can be felt in the air like an oily film. We’re choking on it.

So  I fear a great storm is coming like the storm of judgment mentioned in Isaiah. 28. It is a chilling passage. Any working man (or woman) should be able to understand the wording. I quote it because this is how God’s judgment works and it seems very appropriate for America.

Judgment will I lay to the line and righteousness to the plummet. And the hail shall sweep away the refuge of lies and the waters shall overflow the hiding place. And your covenant with death shall be cancelled and your agreement with hell shall not stand . . . From the time it begins it will hit you. Again and again the flood will come, morning after morning, day and night, until it will be sheer terror just to understand what it means. For the bed is shorter than a man can stretch himself on it, and the covering narrower than a man can wrap himself in it . . . Now do not mock these words. Open your ears and hear my voice. Listen. (Isaiah 28:17-20 and 22a–23).

So is there anything we can do to help our situation? God gives a solution, but it may already be too late.

If my people, who are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land. (2 Chronicles 7:14).

I stand with Israel and God, Mr. Obama. Which means I won’t be standing anywhere near you.

 

Comment

