To the Tune Of “Folsom Prison Blues”; I Can Write it. Can’t Sing it. Hit it, Boys.

Me, getting out of the houseboat RV.

This is to any guy with a good singing voice:

It has been raining for days. So, as an RV’er who has been “grounded” for a couple of months, I’m going stir crazy for the road. Therefore, I wrote these words to the tune of Johnny Cash’s “Folsom Prison Blues”. Come on. Sing it, boys.

Rainy Prison Blues in a Camper in Alabama
(To the tune of Johnny Cash’s “Folsom Prison Blues”
by Linda McDaniel Smith

I hear the rain a fallin’.
It’s rolling off the tin.
And I ain’t seen the sunshine in
I don’t know when.
I’m stuck in Alabama,
And time keeps draggin’ on.
I wish that I was rollin’
On down to San Antone.

When I was just a baby,
My mama told me, Girl,
Get out of Alabama
And see the big wide world.
So I got a glimpse of Reno
From 30 thousand feet.
But that plane just kept on movin’
And I’m in the window seat.

I bet there’s campers eating
By a bright lit fireside,
In a lovely desert pull-in
Where everything is dried.
Yes, I know the rain’s a pourin’
And I just can’t get free.
But those RV’s keep a-rollin’
And that’s what tortures me.

If we’d get this RV goin’,
If freedom could be mine,
I bet I’d move it on
A little farther down the line.
Far from Alabama
That’s where I want to be.
And I’d let that highway take me,
To where I long to be.

Comment

